Seeing The Good: Day 1

As I mentioned in my last post, for the next month, each day I will be posting something positive, no matter how bad of a day it is. No excuses. Period.

Eating dinner as a family has always been important to me. I remember writing a paper on it back in middle school, even. Since I’ve been sick, sometimes I’ll eat before the rest of the family or I don’t eat at all. When I do sit down with them, I don’t usually eat the same meal. Tonight they made meatloaf, which has milk and breadcrumbs in it and my mom put aside some hamburger meat so I could make my own mini loaf–gluten and dairy free. Here are the results!

Homemade GF Breadcrumbs
This was my first time making GF breadcrumbs. I looked up a couple of recipes online to get an idea of seasonings and how long to bake it for, but it really was quite simple to do. I defrosted a few slices of gluten-free bread and then broke apart hunks to put in the food processor. Then I placed the crumbs in a bowl to mix with some seasoning. I don’t measure ingredients most of the time (I guess that’s an Italian thing…), but the amount of seasoning really should be up to you. I just sprinkled some oregano and basil in the crumbs and tossed it all together with some olive oil. Then, spread the crumbs out on a baking sheet and bake until golden brown, which was around 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees. After they cooled for a bit, you then mix it with the hamburger meat and soy milk, until it becomes a moldable consistency, not dry or that breaks apart. Then, place in a casserole dish.
 
 
 
And, there you have it. Cooking times vary depending on how thick/how much meat you’re using, but after cooking the meat for some time, you then add tomato sauce over the top, sprinkle with parsley, and let it cook a little longer. Of course you can subsitute a different meat or opt for a meatless version, as well as using a different wet ingredient.
 
So, tonight I sat down with my family and enjoyed the same meal–with just a couple of tweaks. And it was worth it. It always is.
 
Healing thoughts and prayers to all-
 
Kate
 

2 responses to “Seeing The Good: Day 1

  1. Great idea, as I was contemplating about the idea or blog writing I thought of this as well “posting something positive, something to be happy and grateful for every day” but as you see I’m not doing that. It will make you feel so much better. I do have a little happy log plus I log my lucky points. It a great tool for feeling better on a blue day. I’m looking forward to your posts.

    • Thank you, dear friend. I appreciate the encouragement, greatly. It certainly can be difficult to see the good in things when you’re up to your eye’s with false-promises and getting the run-around from doctors. Even one’s that are not struggling chronically could benefit from taking the time to appreciate the small things.

      Keep hanging in. Sending you strength.

Leave a comment